Krystal-Ann Melbourne Interview

Happy February, everyone! Today I’m having a chat with Krystal-Ann Melbourne, an artist and an author both.

krystal-ann

Which writers inspire you?

Scott Lynch. Not only because his books are my absolute favourite, but also because he was picked up by an agent so early, and while breaking a ton of the rules us aspiring authors consider concrete. Similarly, I’m also inspired by Sarah J. Maas. I remember reading her debut when it was still a Cinderella fanfic floating around the internet. To see her do so well for herself gives the rest of us hope.

Do you write part-time or full-time?

Part-time, because I work full-time at a job I absolutely love. Even were I to become incredibly rich and successful, I would still work my job at least part-time. In all, I spend about 10 hours a week writing and 5 hours a week with organizing/outlining future projects or maintaining my website and blog. I think about my story all the time though, and am constantly sending myself reminder emails about spontaneous ideas.

Do you think that the cover plays a part in the buying process?

Definitely. People say not to judge a book by its cover, but the artist in me just can’t let that fly. Visual art says a lot about a person’s creative intuition. If a book’s cover is lacking, the writing will need to work much harder to get me to buy it. I judge first by a book’s title, then the cover, then the blurb at the back. If I’m still on the fence after those, I will open it up and read a random dialogue page.

What drew you to write fantasy?

Fantasy is the genre I read most. I love magic, thievery, murder, mythology, tragedy, dark humour, and horror. I wrote A Balance of Souls to incorporate all these things that I enjoy reading, and that’s what keeps me passionate about it through all the rewrites and editing. My next two works skip around genre a bit, but still staying within the frame of what I love to read: Claudian’s Keys, a surrealist YA with a bit of piracy and steampunk undertones, and Hesitation, a choose-your-own-adventure adult horror fashioned after 90’s rpg-horror video games.

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’d like to be able to survive off my writing, keep the income from my dayjob for savings, and have time to invest in my other crafts. Project wise, I would really love to be able to turn A Balance of Souls into a manga. I feel the story’s timeline and formatting would really fit well into an episodic medium, and with manga I can combine both my writing, and my artwork.

Thank you so much to Krystal-Ann for letting me interview you today.

Keep up with her latest by visiting her website and reading her blog!

Krystal-Ann Melbourne is an author and artist living in Montreal with her two fat cats. Since neither writing nor painting pays the rent, she also works full time as a video game playtester (best day job ever) for a game which she’s not allowed to tell anyone about.

Her other interests include teaching herself piano, violin, knitting, cooking, baking, making candles, and gardening. She’d really like to get into creating art from sandblasting old windows, and is always working to improve her French.

 

Leave a Reply

