Reading Challenge Update

Holy guacamole, it’s 2017 already? Where does the time go??

Happy New Year, everyone! I’ve been staying away from blogging since the new year began, but I’m back to report on the progress I made during last year’s reading challenge!

mmd-2016-reading-challenge
Click here to see my original blog post announcing the challenge!

1. A book published this year (2016) – DONE! I read Heart of the Winterland by Kristen Kooistra.

Heart of the Winterland review

2. A book you can finish in a day – DONE! I read A Year in Japan by Kate T Williamson.

Finished my first book!

3. A book you’ve been meaning to read – DONE! I read Eve: The Awakening by Jenna Moreci.

Finished the fourth book!

4. A book recommended by a librarian or bookseller – DONE! I read Hannah’s Winter by Kierin Meehan.

Hannah’s Winter Review (2016 RC Book 6)

5. A book you should have read in school – This one is a big fat FAIL. I was supposed to have read Wuthering Heights, but never finished it. I feel really bad for saying this because a certain writer friend of mine likes this book a lot, but I just couldn’t get into it. I tried reading it, but I just couldn’t finish it. It wasn’t entertaining enough. The classics aren’t for everyone, and in this case, it just wasn’t my kind of book. I’ve DNF’ed my fair share of books, but I’m declaring this one a fail because I didn’t write a blog post declaring it a DNF.

6. A book chosen by a spouse, partner, sibling, or BFF – DONE! I read Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger, chosen for me by my BFF. 🙂

Keeper of the Lost Cities review

7. A book published before you were born – DONE! I read Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.

Finished book three!

8. A book that was banned at some point – DONE! I read The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice.

Finished my second book!

9. A book you abandoned – DONE! I read Swallowing Darkness by Laurel K. Hamilton.

Book five completed, and lessons have been learned

10. A book you own but never read – Here we have another FAIL, ladies and gentlemen. I was going to read Tale of Genji but stuff happened, including an international move and starting a new job, and I never finished it.

11. A book that intimidates you – And here’s yet another FAIL. I chose Ginban Kaleidoscope   by Rei Kaibara for this but stopped in the middle. Why, you ask? Well, this book wound up getting an anime adaptation, and I watched the anime first and absolutely adored it. In fact, the anime adaptation of this book has become one of my favorite anime of all time. And while I understand that when a book is adapted to the small or big screen, there are bound to be some changes made in the name of creative license, this was exactly the opposite–the anime made a change to the MMC’s character that I thought was a really good one.

This book (and the anime it’s based on) is about a sixteen-year-old girl named Tazusa Sakurano who is a candidate for the women’s Olympic figure skating competition. One day, she is possessed by a Canadian ghost named Pete Pumps, who must inhabit her for 100 days before he can ascend to Heaven. In the anime, Pete tells Tazusa how he died–he was an acrobatic flight pilot and in the middle of a performance when his plane malfunctioned and he crashed. But in the book, Pete is reluctant to tell Tazusa how he died, and when he does, it’s not at all believable. He says he got struck by lightning (which is pretty rare in terms of methods of death) and he was also coincidentally in the same tiny town in Colorado the same day Tazusa was there performing in a competition. At that point, I just flipped a table and declared the book a DNF (Did Not Finish).

12. A book you have read at least once – This, also, is a FAIL. I was going to read Lord of the Rings, which I’ve loved ever since high school, but never finished it. I wound up stopping at page 600-something, not because I was declaring it a DNF, but I took a break at that point and never got a chance to go back and finish it.

So, out of twelve books I was supposed to read, I finished eight and declared two others DNFs, so I get ten out of twelve books. Which, I think, is a win. Considering that halfway through the year, I moved halfway across the world and started a new job that takes up all my free time, that’s not too shabby. And while doing this reading challenge, I learned so much about myself and my reading preferences that I feel that that, in and of itself, is a win.

That’s all for now, folks! Keep tuning in here to my blog for more updates and stuff. Stay awesome! 乙女

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update

  1. You did really well! Especially with having a huge move and a new job thrown in.

    I read Wuthering Heights last year. I hated all of the characters, but thought the writing was stellar. I’d never read it again(way too depressing and made me angry), but it was good in how it pulled emotion and relayed the story.

    I can see how it’s not for everyone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

