Lynn Miller Interview

In keeping with the spirit of the Word Blog Tour, this month I am interviewing Lynn Miller, author of The Witch’s Pride.

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I want to tell stories as long as I am able. I want to tell stories of love and all the mushy stuff without being mushy. I want my readers to remember my books as “thought provoking after the fact.” I want that rush of pre-order sales. I want loyal fans. And I won’t deny it, I’d like to make a living as well.

Does your book use any references to mythology or real-world folklore, or does it contain its own folklore?

It’s kind of a mixed bag. I’ve merged pantheons together. I liked the idea that every system probably got it right, just from different perspectives. That’s the foundation of my worldbuilding. The idea was to make the fantastical seem almost plausible.

Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I draft on my laptop. I outline longhand with sticky tabs, transfer that to Scrivener using the same colour coding system. Then I go chapter by chapter. Rough draft, first draft send to Word. Spelling and Grammar check. Text to voice. Then post for critique. Go back to outline check the next chapter and start the whole process over.

Do your characters seem to hijack the story or do you feel like you have the reins?

Hijack is such a strong word and makes me feel like the victim. LOL But yes, my characters will say something, completely in character, and suddenly the story will veer off in a different direction. That causes a lot of grey hairs because I need to toggle between seeing where it leads and forcing them to go where I need them to go.

What genre do you consider your books? Have you considered writing in another genre?

I consider the Sons of Rebellion to be Paranormal Romance. Though, technically I describe it as an urban fantasy/family drama with a strong romantic sub-plot. Doesn’t roll off the tongue quite as easily. Originally I did consider it as an urban fantasy series but using romance to describe it was far too convenient.

Thank you so much for joining me this month, Lynn! If you’re interested in learning more about Lynn Miller, you can follow her on Twitter at @lynnmillerfic or visit her website at https://lynnmiller.co.za/.

McWDdkXi_400x400

Lynn Miller lives in Johannesburg, South Africa. Her love for storytelling started before she was able read or write but she only found the time to pursue this lifelong passion once she sold her software business. Her magical tales weave the blurred grey between good and evil with love, family and friendship.

When she’s not writing, you can find her curled up with a cup of coffee and her Kindle. She has always enjoyed both Romance and Urban Fantasy, and she writes in the genre that encompasses both: Paranormal Romance.  She’s an outdoorsy city girl – comfortable at a campsite with her family or enjoying cocktails with her girlfriends.

 

Leave a Reply

