New stuff! So excite!

Hello, again, my dear readers. I hope you are well.

I would like to share some very exciting news with all of you and some links and things.

First, this happened several weeks ago, so it may be a bit late in coming, but I was interviewed! You can view the full interview here, on Elizabeth Gales’ blog. Elizabeth interviews all sorts of artists, writers, comedians, and actors on her blog, so I hope that you’ll check out some of her other stuff while you’re there!

Click here to check out the interview!

Also, my book, The Crown and the Mage is finally available on the Nook, as well, so if you’re a Nook reader, please do pick up a copy! The price is the same as the Kindle version, only $0.99!

I know that in my last post, I promised I would write about my summer job, but right now, let’s just say that I’m going to hold off on that for a while. Stuff has happened and the rose-colored glasses have come off, so I’ll wait a while before talking about it. Maybe I’ll post little snippets of stuff that happened, like some funny excerpts about my students, although since they are minors, I won’t say their real names on here, to protect their identities. I had 25 students in all, and they were all amazing people in their own way. We were always so busy everyday that I didn’t realize how much they each meant to me until we got to the airport and it was time to say goodbye. I will never forget any of them, especially “Yuka,” who got sick during the first week of camp and then again during the third week. Of course, I would never say that I picked favorites among the students, but I will say that I paid a bit of extra attention to her because she got sick so often. When we were dropping them off at the airport, Yuka’s luggage was too heavy and she had to take some stuff out, so all the rest of our group had already gone through security by the time she finished checking her bag. We hugged and said good-bye, and Yuka kept turning around to look back at us as she went through airport security. All the R.A.s from each group and our camp director stood watching until Yuka made it through security and caught up to the rest of the students. And I realized that I had been so focused on the day-to-day minutiae that I hadn’t realized how much my students meant to me, or even that they had grown fond of me. It’s kind of hard to describe, but I was really touched to know that I had been more to them than just a temporary guardian for the time they were in America. They even gave me a beautiful signboard (like a thick piece of paper meant for autographs) with little messages written from each of them, and that night as we celebrated our final dinner together as a staff, our coordinator, who spoke zero Japanese and hadn’t had the opportunity to grow close to the students like we did, presented each of us with a book entitled “25 thoughts of gratitude,” where each of our respective 25 students (there were 100 students in the program, and two R.A.s each were assigned to a group of 25 of them) had written messages to us, much like American students write in each others’ yearbooks at the end of a school year. As it turns out, our coordinator, bless her heart, had arranged it with some of the employees of the Japanese company that had sponsored us; these employees had come to America to observe our program and to live with us in the dorms, and they spoke both Japanese and English, so they were able to help our coordinator explain to the students about the yearbooks. I was so happy to receive that yearbook and now, whenever I feel depressed, I find myself flipping through it and reading the messages my students wrote to me.

Wow, this post got way longer than I expected. I’ll end the post here, my dear readers. Until next time, may your swords stay sharp! 乙女

Leave a Reply

