Beep bop boop. Random thoughts. And a new novel in the works!

Hello, again, my dear readers. I hope you all stay well; I seem to have caught a terrible chest cold that is going around, so please do take care of yourselves.

Anyway, back to me. What was I saying? Oh, yes. I got a job!

One reason I would like to mention my job is that while I was working, I didn’t write a single word. Not one. I can think of several reasons: we were working from 8 AM – 10:30 PM with very little free time, I was always exhausted and didn’t feel like writing, etc. etc. And before you all start freaking out about the long hours, I knew when I first started that I’d be working such long hours. And I’d only be required to work such long hours for about three weeks because the job was a summer camp counselor-type position. It was great fun, especially because we were working with Japanese students who come from the Tohoku region, which was the area devastated by the earthquake and subsequent tsunami, which triggered a nuclear meltdown at the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant on March 11 four years ago. They came to study Y-Plan, a leadership process in which they developed action plans for their ravaged communities back home. Many of them came out of the program with ideas for farmer’s markets, new businesses (like daycare centers or restaurants) or just other ways to revitalize tourism and rebuild their communities. One of my students came up with the idea to develop an app for smartphones that would allow people in the community to stay connected, so if another natural disaster were to happen, they could share news with each other, which I thought was a great idea. Although some did speak some conversational English, none of them spoke it well enough to be able to attend lectures held in English – all the lectures were held in Japanese – and as an R.A. for the program, I had to be able to communicate with my students in Japanese, as well. It was so much fun, and all of my students were amazing. And while I was working on this program, I got an idea for a new novel that I’m rather excited to write. I think for the next few entries, I’ll talk about specific aspects of the job, like what exactly Y-Plan is, what are some of the activities we did outside the classroom, and also how wonderful it was to finally be able to go to swim practice after having to skip for the three weeks of the program, because we always had activities planned during the times that my team would practice. Oh, and how my coworkers got me addicted to a new game called Trivia Crack. But until then, my dear readers, stay well. 乙女

Leave a Reply

